The Nobel Prize

  • It is a Swedish literature prize.
  • It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895.
  • It has become the world’s most prestigious literature prize.
  • Alfred Nobel in his last will stated that his money be used to create a series of prizes for those who confer the “greatest benefit on mankind” in physics, chemistry, peace, physiology or medicine, and literature.
  • According to Nobel’s will, the Royal Swedish Academy was to award the Prize in Literature.
  • The award is usually announced in October.
  • A Literature Nobel Prize laureate earns a gold medal, a diploma bearing a citation, and a sum of money.
  • The amount of money awarded depends on the income of the Nobel Foundation that year.
  • If a prize is awarded jointly to two or more laureates, the money is split among them.
  • The laureate is also invited to give a lecture during “Nobel Week” in Stockholm’
  • The Nobel Prize medals, minted by Myntverket in Sweden.
  • Since 2012 the Nobel medals has been manufactured by Mint of Norway.
  • The first literature prize was awarded to French poet and essayist Sully Prudhomme in 1901.
  • In 1909, Selma Legerlof became the first woman to win the Nobel Prize in Literature.
  • The youngest winner to date is Mumbai-born British author Rudyard Kipling.
  • Rabindranath Tagore was the first non-European or non-white recipient of the Nobel Prize.
  • Doris Lessing is the oldest winner.
  • The Nobel Medal for Literature was designed by Swedish sculptor and engraver Erik Lindberg and represents a young man sitting under a laurel tree.
  • It will not be awarded in 2018, but two names will be awarded in 2019.

Booker Prize

  • Booker Prize is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK.
  • The prize was originally known as the Booker–McConnell Prize.
  • Only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African and later Zimbabwean citizens were eligible to receive this prize.
  • In 2014, the eligibility was widened to any English-language novel. This change became controversial.
  • When Booker, McConnell Ltd began sponsoring the event in 1969;[5] it became known as the Booker Prize.
  • PH Newby is the first winner of the prize.
  • From 2002 the prize became the Man Booker Prize as the Man Group came as sponsor.
  • Yann Martel is the first winner of the Man Booker Prize.
  • Since 1969, 31 men and 16 women have won the prize.
  • The longest winning novel in the prize’s history was The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton, in 2013, with 832 pages.
  • Eleanor Catton became the youngest winner in 2013, aged just 28.
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
error: Content is protected !!